Broken Social Scene


Anyone who knows me can attest to how much I love Broken Social Scene.  So why is it that I’ve seen almost every act on this planet except for them?  Chalk it up to years of stupid decisions, sloth and too many drinks before 8 PM.

This Saturday I will finally have a chance to redeem myself at the Music Hall of Williamsburg.

I have never been this excited for a show in my whole life.


The ever-revolving superstar cast went their own ways during a four-year semi-hiatus that heightened BSS’s profile, namely through the works of Feist and Emily Haines (Metric).  Brendan Canning, Kevin Drew and Amy Milan also released excellent solo albums. Artistically, the break was good.

But for me, four years of spinning the same songs lead to an aching for new material.   As much as I love “7/4 Shoreline” or “Stars and Sons“, it’s time for some new stuff.  Thus, with wide, open arms I welcome the new album,  Forgiveness Rock Record, released this Tuesday.

Forgiveness is a breathtaking mash-up of shimmering, scintillating, phosphorescent vocals snaking through canyons of sound propelled by urgent bass lines ornamented with plucked strings and sparkling electronic effects. Broken Social Scene has created yet another atmospheric, quirky anthology that may encompass some of their strongest material yet.  If you haven’t already listened, check out the videos and mp3s below.

(I should preface these videos by noting that they were created as pre-release teasers in which BSS married cinematic moments with snippets of their new songs.  The results are mixed bag of tongue-in-check humor, poignancy and charm.)

And now that you’ve whet your palate, listen to entire tracks:

Stream my favorite track “All to All”:

Stream “World Sick”:

Stream “Ungrateful Little Father”:

Support amazing artists and buy this album HERE.

Leave a Reply

