Singles

Aloe Blacc – I Need A Dollar

Weekday mornings are hard. Especially during the depths of winter.  At times my brain can’t bear the thought of leaving my warm bed and trekking into a Times Square sea of upward-gazing, slow-moving tourists only to occupy a flourescent-lit cubicle.

Luckily, though, I’ve come across Aloe Blacc and his single, “I Need A Dollar.”  Blacc’s sleek yet gritty vocals provide the kick in the ass I need: it’s an anthem for those of us who have to hustle to keep both our dreams alive and our bellies filled.

Toro Y Moi – New Beat

Do you feel the urge to get funky?  Maybe moonwalk through your office halls?  Then this Toro Y Moi track is for you.  For the past two weeks, I have not been able to turn off this song; nor can I cease the addictive keyboard riff from constant repetition inside my head.  The psychedelic schmorgesborg of breezy vocals, mazes of electronic effects and pulsating beats dictate a need to jam.

Wise Blood – strt srns

If Animal Collective if your thing, this track is for you.  Christopher Laufman, also known as Wise Blood, has knit an addictive song from yarns of tribal drumming, vaporous vocals, and hazy reverb instrumentation.  The slightly exotic flavor provides a perfect mental escape from the harsh realities of our never-ending winter.  Don’t blame me if you keep this on repeat.

Leave a Reply

