Healthy Breakfast Ideas

My big mistake of 2013 was sliding back into my morning bagel habit.  I consider the bagel a gateway drug into other dangerous diet downfalls like eating fries at lunch or ice cream every night–and that’s exactly what happened around September.  By the of December, I had the energy levels of a sea slug, so like many of you, I resolved to take better care of my body in 2014.  Easier said than done! Although we’re only 22 days into 2014, I am struggling to pry myself away from the cookie jar and back to the gym.  To tackle my poor eating habits, I am slowly revamping how I approach all of my meals.  I decided to start with breakfast, and have been adhering to a formula of protein + fruit + carbs.  Below are some of my new morning meals, and I’d love to hear your breakfast thoughts and ideas! 

1. Good Food Made Simple Egg White Patties + Thomas Bagel Thins + Fruit salad

Good Food Made Simple is a frozen-food brand I discovered shopping at Target over the holiday.  They focus on providing healthy frozen options that are fantastic for anyone with a busy schedule.  These egg white patties are quite good, and only take a few minutes in the microwave to prepare.  I like to pretend I’m indulging in a greasy breakfast sandwich by pairing them with a Thomas Bagel Thin sprinkled with pepper and garlic powder.   If you wanted to get really crazy, try adding in Morningstar Farm’s bacon or sausage patties.  Watch out. And to ensure I’m getting my fruit for the morning, I’ll eat a pre-made fruit salad if I don’t have time to make one at home. 

2. Van’s Whole Wheat Waffles + Low-fat peanut butter + Sliced bananas + Cary’s sugar-free syrup

This is my healthy homage to the Elvis.  Van’s waffles are delicious and Cary’s sugar-free syrup tastes so good, it’s hard to distinguish from regular syrup.   

3. Good Food Made Simple Burritos + Fruit

These burritos are incredibly tasty and very filling.  I highly recommend! 

4. Fiber One Pancake Mix + Blueberries + Good Food Made Simple Egg White Patties

Fiber One Pancake Mix is shockling good and not that bad for you.  I like to make a big batch on the weekends and add in fresh fruit, like blueberries or bananas.  Then on the weekdays, I can easily grab some with Good Food Made Simple’s egg white patties for a super-satisfying and “decadent” breakfast. 

5. 3 Boiled egg whites + Thomas Cinnamon Raisin English Muffin + Apple 

Pretty basic breakfast.  I like to salt and pepper my eggs, and sometimes I’ll put some low-fat butter on my English muffin.  

6. Banana + Fage 0% yogurt + Whole-wheat toast 

My favorite Fage flavors are blueberry, strawberry and raspberry.  I switched over to Greek yogurt a few years ago after I discovered how much more filling they are than Yoplait or Dannon.  

2 thoughts on “Healthy Breakfast Ideas

  1. My new favorite breakfast go-to: old fashioned steel cut oats + banana + honey + cinnamon + walnuts. Amazing and I always feel good after it. Oh, and I made an omelet once with avocado in it. I didn’t think it would work but YUMMY!

    1. Jenny, that sounds DELICIOUS and I’m going to give it a shot. Also, I think an avocado omelette sounds absolutely wonderful 🙂 Thank you for stopping by! xo

Leave a Reply

