Sarah Jessica Parker’s Home Tour

In the mid-2000’s, I lived directly across the street from Sarah Jessica Parker in the West Village.  Whenever she stepped out of her gorgeous brownstone, I craned my neck to catch a glimpse inside.   Yesterday, Vogue posted a mini-house tour with SJP, and my years of waiting finally paid off.  Unlike a lot of celebrity homes, Parker’s decor is warm, inviting and comfortable; the baby gate, well-worn velvet couch and bookshelves teeming with dog-eared books indicate that its residents actually live there.

Since I’m a home decor junkie, I watched the video about 25 times to nab the following screen captures for my interior design Pinterest board, but you should definitely watch the interview below.  I’ve also included a small product round-up showing how to emulate the look — which is surprisingly very affordable and easy to accomplish.

PS – Pardon the blurry and fuzzy shots, it was a little tricky to get clear footage!

All photos courtesy of Vogue 

Above: Oh, don’t mind my Emmy on the bookshelf…

1. Ikea Besta TV Storage Combination – If don’t have custom-built shelving around your TV, fake it till you make it with some Ikea. I’d probably lose the creepy glass doors and also the opaque white ones to give it more of a bookshelf feel.

2. Lulu & Georgia Waterway Rug in Watermelon

3. Room & Board Stella Sofa

4. Benjamin Moore Seaweed Paint, 2035-10

5. Indian Kantha Quilt

6.  Ikea Billy Bookcase

7. Vintage Bar Cart via Soulful Vintage on Etsy

8. From left to right: Magic Cabin Illuminated GlobeLand of Nod Illuminated GlobeIlluminated World Globe from By Grass Doll on Etsy

9. Sofa.com Avalon Chair

10. Urban Outfitters Laboratory Lamp

11. Wisteria Sunburst Armoire

Above: I would really love to have room for a ping pong table.  I mean, right now I’d be cool with 200 more square feet.

Leave a Reply

